Life of a mature student…Memorising Quran at later age?

Today, I have entered the second month of online Quran Tahfiz class. This is an online Quran class dedicated for those trying to memorise the Quran. I found it via Telegram apps.

I first joined the class about 3 weeks ago, during the quarantine time. Yup, it was my 4th day of sickness with Covid-19 category 2. Stuck at home for a total of 16 days (first quarantined as close contact to my youngest child, then extended when I was confirmed with PCR. 16 days was long enough for most people, but for me, who rarely had such ‘opportunity’ to be home-bound for a fairly long period, I tried to use every day to the fullest I can. Of course when I was really sick the first 3 days of Covid, I lied down mostly, sometimes reading or studying some academic material from the journals, or reading the ‘Faster, Smarter’ book, or even managing to give an online lecture on Covid 19 and the heart! When I was a bit stronger, I worked at the store room trying to clear the garbage, lawn mowing and some physical exercise with the bicycle around the house (of course, we are not allowed to leave the house for the entire quarantine period).

Joining the online class over dinner? Its all about convenience!

It had been long time since I was looking for this kind of online tahfiz. A simple Quran class that you can check your memorisation of surah, to help you gain confidence and strengthen the Quran in your heart. This Madrasah Tahfiz Online (Aswaja Darul Hijrah) is perfect. It is led by Ustaz Abu Syafiq, I never met him, initially I asked whether I could join, since the class was advertised to both children and adult up to age 50. I am older than that so I asked whether I could still join, ustaz immediately agreed. My intention, I just want to ‘tasmik’ ie check the surahs of the Quran that I have memorised. I have been doing it with friends in usrah, and recently with my son. Having a formal class would greatly help. I don’t need to learn the reading itself, so merely getting checked and corrected on verses that has been committed to heart is all I need.

The classes are conducted via online Google Meet. There are two classes every day from Monday to Thursday, minimum two hours each. One hour each session allocated for students own time, to revise their verses, so that they can read the verses to the teacher during the online class, in the second hour. Since there are not a huge number of students, you do get your slot quite fast, no long wait. Sometimes I purposely join and listen to the students reciting, so I got an idea of what is the standard expected etc.

“اقرؤوا القرآن فإنه يأتي يوم القيامة شفيعًا لأصحابه‏”‏ ‏(‏‏‏رواه مسلم‏)‏‏The Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) said, “Read the Quran, for it will come as an intercessor for its reciters on the Day of Resurrection” (Muslim) 

The teacher / facilitator is an ustazah (lady teacher). At first I was a bit uncomfortable, let alone the wife was certainly uneasy. To be more transparent, I always made sure I read when other students around. At time, the Google Meet platform does not function and ustazah calls us individually. This is such a great dedication form the tahfiz school which I admired, however this led to situation of one to one conversation, though everything was strictly about reciting the Quran. I had a check with Ustaz Bisri Ibrahim from the Hulu Klang Mosque committee, who said it is no problem for the purpose of learning.

So have I have done Surah Yusuf, Yasin, al Mukminun, as Sajdah and Ad Dukhan. Today I started with the ‘big’ part of a marathon on 5 juzu’ beginning with juz 26, Surah al Ahqaf. I recited two and a half page this morning, got perfect up to verses 17 when I skipped two short words! Ustazah reminded me and ensured I noted the mistake. I recalled once I was reciting surah Yasin from memory two weeks ago, when suddenly I got a brain freeze. I took deep breath, went back a verse, tried and failed. After mumbling through many verses as if ‘shooting in the dark’ then I got back in track. During this stuggle ustazah kept quiet, no hint was given! Hmmm I wondered since, another occasion I was listening when a young student reciting he was corrected at every mistakes and given hint, perhaps they are expecting high standard from an old guy like me…

The beauty of this online tahfiz class – I can join it from the convenience of my home, office or even on the move. Twice I was attending the class and reciting my memorisation in the car – my wife kindly agreed to drive. Then on another occasion we went out for dinner, and it was Quran time, so I quietly sat at the end of the table and joined the class. Its odd, but I say its so convenient. Furthermore, though the Madrasah expects students to spend minimum of two hours each session (morning and evening), you essentially needs something like 15-20 minutes each time to join online. I choose towards the end of the session, when less students around. Once I had to attend the dentist, so I requested to be read first before the others. Ustaz immediately answered, saying that I can do the tasmik with him! I was a bit hesitant not expecting him to answer promptly, I reassured him that I will just join the regular class, just requesting to be given the earliest slot to read my verses. Ustazah agreed and I had mine done fast.

Having to attend the classes twice a day (technically two hours each – total of 4 hours) need serious commitment. And I am giving my full commitment, in fact the wife said she can sense my seriousness as a tahfiz student, so far I have never missed a class, and dedicate time to prepare for the classes. As an old guy whose brain doesn’t work as quick as the kids, I need more time to read and digest the Quran, so far I am doing well and happy with this online tahfiz, hoping I shall improve my Quran memorisation at the end of this course, which likely going to last about one year.

Leave a comment